PSCC Communications Committee

The Communications Committee raises awareness of Cornell’s campus sustainability efforts....

The committee works with President's Sustainable Campus Committee (PSCC) and its focus teams, the Atkinson Center, Facilities Services, student leaders, and campus partners. The committee employs authentic storytelling about Cornell’s living laboratory that informs and inspires audiences about Cornell’s Living Laboratory for Sustainability. The committee leverages communications channels on campus and in the broader sustainability community. In addition, the committee coordinates semi-annual sustainability awards for staff, students, and local partners.

2013 Goals

  • Develop a strategic plan to support broad communications about Cornell campus sustainability efforts
  • Engage Focus Teams, Atkinson Center, Facilities Services, student leaders, and other campus partners to provide content and context for sustainability stories, events, and programs
  • The Living Laboratory brand is developed to support communications about campus sustainability and the PSCC Focus Teams
  • Revise the template for weekly email newsletter
  • Recruit and train new members on the committee
  • External partners, staff, and students are recognized for their sustainability efforts with the Cornell University Partners in Sustainability Award (CUPSA)


  • Sarah Brylinsky, Campus Sustainability Office Chair
  • Kimberly Anderson, Sustainability Engagement Manager
  • Careen Arsenault, Sustainability Administrator, Campus Sustainability Office
  • Melissa Britcher, Manager of Strategic Priority Communications, University Communications
  • Spring Buck, Associate Director of Infrastructure Properties and Planning Managment Operations
  • Lisa Hogarty, Webmaster, Campus Sustainability Office
  • Mark Lawrence, Communications Manager, Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future
  • Susan Riley, Deputy Director, Community Relations
  • Amy Ross, Manager, Parking Systems, and Communications
  • Sarah Zemanick, Director, Campus Sustainability Office
  • Student interns in the Energy and Sustainability group are ex officio members of the Communications Committee